"Eragon"

09/07/2016

Author: Christopher Paolini

Language of the book: Russian

First published in: 2008

Note: I read this book and wrote a review in 2016.

Literally I have just finished reading the first book of the tetralogy. From this book I have received a tremendeous amount of emotions that cannot be retold fully. Adventures, in a something like medieval world, but with magic and dragons - I absolutley love all that. There were sad moments where I just cried and there were moments that brought the tears of laughter. 

The plot is based around the young boy called Eragon who finds in the forests of Spine a  'blue stone' that turns his life upside down when he learns that it's not an ordinary stone but a dragons egg. Just yesterday he was an ordinary farm boy but today Eragon learns that he has to stand for the peace of the Alageasia world that is ruled for centuries by hazardous Galbatorix.

Eragon at the start is accompanied by a 'crazy' storyteller Brom. Brom becomes his first teacher and a guide on his path. The storyline of these two is so nice, and warm like they are somehow related. Their time spent together brings up in me these feeling of coziness, despite the fact that they are in the middle of the near war state of the world. 

Perhaps my favourite secondary character couple somewhat mysterious is herbalist Angela and her werecat Solembum which reminds me very much Behemoth cat from Master and Margarita. They are friends of Eragon and they joined wardens after leaving Teirm, where Angela made living of fortune-telling. At some points of their storylines it smacks a little of devilry that adds a bit of pepper to the story.

As this book is my first experience of reading fantasy, of course, I have nothing else to say except that overall it had only positive aspects. Though I didn't share with Eragon his feelings for elf Aria. Nevertheless, as a character Aria is very well written out that shows her nature as an elf clearly such as high standards for life, care for nature, of high culture live being.

As for authors writing style I cannot comment on that as I rearly pay attention to it especially to the very details of the linguistic specificites. I'd say one thing if you were not much exposed towards Fantasy books world this is a good start especially if you are a child/teenager.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started