"The Time Machine"

08/06/2020

Author: H.G.Wells

Language of the book: English

First published in: 1895

The story begins with the Time Traveller expounding to the fellow men the concept of Dimensions. He claims that apart from Length, Breadth, and Thickness - three planes of Space, people miss out the fourth dimension which is Time. The Time Traveller with his leading questions introduces the idea of time travel to the guests making a watch-like thing disappear.

"There is no intelligence where there is no change and no need of change."
"There is no intelligence where there is no change and no need of change."

On the next meeting when everyone has gathered for a dinner were wondering what took so long for the Time Traveller to arrive. Finally, he lamely walks in, in the "Nebuchadnezzar phases". Everyone is puzzled by his appearance. And so the Time Traveller narrates about his journey to the very far future (802,701  year) where he meets decendents of human kind: Upperworlders - Eloi, and Undergrounders - Morlocks.

The book left me with ambigiuous feelings. On one hand I enjoyed reading it thanks to H.G.Wells for such disclosure of richness of the English language. I caught myself on that the novel was written at the end of the 19th century and it was unbelivable to realise that at that time people were thinking of time travel. It was extraordinary experience for me as I honestly would not have thought about such novel ideas existed more than 100 years ago if not for The Time Machine.

On the other hand it was immensely boring. I did not expect to see a dystopian future of the human kind written about in a very descriptive manner, and I felt sorry for those descendants. Perhaps, it was a tedious read for me as I lacked more action or it also can be that I was born in different "reality" where time travel concept is looked at from sligthly different angle, therefore such monotoneus work has not impressed me a lot.

Anyways, I am glad that I had this experience of reading science fiction for the first time. Would I recommend reading it? Yes, I would especially for the ones who loves classic science fiction works but do not expect lots of action there. 

And to conclude this review, I must say that I believe that every book gives us something in return. You just need to look closer and you will see it.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started